Ipsy March Glam Bag

Hi amazing people,

I’m so excited to tell you that I’ve finally jumped on the subscription boxes bandwagon, and given Ipsy a go!

Just in case you have no idea what I am talking about, Ipsy is a brand founded by Youtube Makeup Star Michelle Phan. They produce Glam Bags, monthly bags that they send out to their subscribers, with a curated selection of makeup products catered for your profile. I love pleasant surprises, and this seems like a fun way to get one in the mail every month. It is also one of the most affordable subscription boxes at US$10 a month, and so I decided to try it. I figured I could always unsubscribe if it didn’t feel like it was worth it, after trying it for a couple months.

If you are interested in signing up too, here’s a referral code for all of you. Enjoy!

https://www.ipsy.com/new?refer=uuy6b

They usually bill you on the first week of each month, ship the Glam Bags out in the first or second week, and you get it closer to the third week of the month.

Anyway, back to my little surprise in the mail. I subscribed to Ipsy in time for the March Glam Bag, and so this was my first! I was so excited when I opened my mailbox and found this shiny, pink, bubble wrap package in the mail!

IMG_3234.JPG

Let’s take a look at what’s inside, shall we?

IMG_3237.JPG

Tah-dah! There were 5 products in total, probably 3 full size products, and 2 samples. They all came in a pretty blue and red (the lighting is changing the true color of it, in the picture) flowery makeup bag that reminds me of colorful roses, so apt for Spring. That’s another fun feature of Ipsy, that every glam bag comes in an actual bag, not just a cardboard box.

Here are my reviews of all the products I received (starting from the left), and links to the product webpages!

1. Make Up For Ever – Step 1 Equalizer-Hydrating Primer

I have been looking around a good primer, and so it was nice to receive this sample in the Glam Bag. The primer is lightweight, gel-like and goes on smooth. It made my foundation (the foundation I used with it is NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation in Gobi) adhere a lot better and gave it a more even texture.

2. Pixi By Petra – Beauty Blush Duo (in Rose Gold)

This is a really adorable blush duo that can be used alone or together. The color gives a slight flush to your cheeks, and the gold doubles up as a highlighter. I swept my brush across both colors and used them together for a flattering rosy glow on my cheeks. It is subtle enough for every day use. I saved myself the step of highlighting with this blush, as the gold really catches the light.

3. Marc Anthony – Nourishing Argan Oil of Morroco 3 Day Smooth Perfect Blow Dry Cream 

I don’t know if I messed up my profile, but I received this even though I do not blow dry my hair. Maybe they sent it to me because I indicated that I liked hair care products. I tried it anyway, without blow drying. It is slightly sticky, but does smooth my frizzy hair and tame the flyaways. If you do blow dry your hair, I do think this could work much better for you.

4. Essence Cosmetics – Make Me Brow Eyebrow Gel Mascara

This is an interesting product because I have never thought of getting mascara for my brows. To be fair, I barely use mascara for my lashes (only for special occassions), so I might not be the best person to ask. However, I did give it a try and it does darken my eyebrows nicely, making them more defined. It was a rather odd product for me, though, and I don’t think I am running out to buy any eyebrow mascara anytime soon.

5. Me Me Me – Loose Powder Brush

I have never been big on makeup tools and I apply most of my makeup with my fingers because it gives me so much more flexibility. Loose powder though, is one exception. I have been using a kabuki brush for this purpose (not even sure where I got it, or when) and so it wasn’t completely off base for Ipsy to send me this, I guess. The brush is pretty amazingly soft and I love how it feels on my skin. Powder goes on easy, and I will be using this in rotation with my current brush from now on.

I had to try out all of the products (along with my usual day to day make up) and here is the result in a bathroom selfie.

IMG_3240.JPG

So, what’s my verdict on the Glam Bag by Ipsy? I think it is too early to say. I will probably give it a few more months to form a proper judgement, as I think one bag doesn’t say much about the service. However, if I had to give a rating simply based on my first Glam Bag, it would be….

painted-heart--symbol-of-love-michal-boubinpainted-heart--symbol-of-love-michal-boubinpainted-heart--symbol-of-love-michal-boubin

3 hearts – Meh. Could be better, but not that terrible either. It was fun to receive a surprise in the mail and try new make up. I was happy to note that some of these products were full sized, but I just wasn’t a big fan of all of the products. Perhaps more months on Ipsy would make their selection for me better? I might change this rating in the future if that happens, and I am happy to do a post every month for the Glam Bag because I think it is fun to share this with you!

*Heart image is taken from Michal Boubin’s painting: Symbol of Love

Let me know if you have tried some of these products yourself, and what you thought of them in the comments below. Also do share your personal experiences with Ipsy, positive or negative!

Hope you had a sweet Tuesday!

❤ Joy

One thought on “Ipsy March Glam Bag

Leave a Reply

