My Facial Cleanser Picks

Let’s talk facial cleansers for today! It is the basic building block to a healthy skincare routine, and should be used daily. There are countless facial cleansers out there for every skin type, so find one that works for you, and be consistent. I know it seems like common sense, but wash your face everyday!

The makeup you use, along with dirt, grime and oils build up on your face quickly and over time, so it is essential to get a good cleanser that helps keep your face clean and happy. I have used so many cleansers, but I have a few that I love, and use on rotation right now. I am going to share some recommendations that have worked for me, but sometimes it is good ol’ trial and error to find the product that works best for YOU.

I mostly have dry skin in the New England climate, and look for products that do not dry my skin out. With the climate here being seasonal, my skin care needs change year round too. When I travel to South East Asia or more humid and hot climates, my skin becomes more combination and I want products that prevents breakouts. So don’t just stick to using one cleanser all the time, try different ones that might be more effective in meeting your changing skincare needs!

For basic cleansing that works for most skin types, I use The Face Shop Herb Day Cleansing Foam. It foams up well, soothes irritated skin, leaves skin supple and provides simple hydration. It is a good, reliable every day cleanser.

For exfoliation without microbeads, I use Rohto Hada Labo Mild Peeling Facial Washing Foam. I buy it when I go back to Singapore, but apparently you can get it on Amazon too (link provided above). It uses an AHA and BHA combination to exfoliate and always leaves my skin feeling super soft. The name Tamagohada literally translates to egg-skin and I guess it is a reference to super smooth skin like a boiled egg. Hahaha. A word of caution, right after using this facial foam, your skin will be sensitive to the elements, so it is essential to put on sunscreen before you go out in the sun. I only use this in the evenings, for night time cleansing before I go to bed to avoid having that problem.

For blemishes, when I get breakouts, or if you have oily, acne-prone skin, I strongly recommend Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash Scrub, Pink Grapefruit
. I have been using this for years, and bring it with me when I head to hot & humid climates especially, because my skin becomes more acne prone and oily then. It uses Neutrogena’s Microclear technology that breaks through oil to deliver acne medicine to the source of breakouts, apparently even before they appear. It is very effective in clearing breakouts really quickly, and keeps my skin very clean and clear. It does contain gentle microbeads, which helps smooth away roughness, as well as maximum strength Salicylic Acid, which is basically acne medicine. It is very refreshing and gentle enough to use daily.

For the Asian ladies out there who love whitening products, I have been using the Nivea Visage : Extra White Pore Minimiser Mud Foam
, which I bought when I was back in Singapore. I am sure if you looked hard enough, you will find this on Amazon/ebay. Whitening in Asian terms refers mostly to illuminating, or brightening the skin tone to achieve a coveted glowing and dewy complexion. This products does help with that, livens dull skin and minimizes large pores to make them less visible. I don’t use it as much as the above products, honestly, but it might be something you are looking for.

Hope these recommendations will help some of you, and especially if you are thinking of trying new cleansers. Good luck in your search and do share with me the facial cleansers you love/swear by! I am always game to try new products.

❤ Joy

One thought on “My Facial Cleanser Picks

Leave a Reply

